Ranby C of E Primary School

‘A Love of Learning for Life and for All’

~ 'A Love of Learning for Life and for All' ~




Ranby C.E. Primary School  caters for the whole of the primary age range for children aged three to eleven years old, when the majority transfer to The Elizabethan Academy School, Retford.


The school is administered by a Governing Body who:

  • are responsible for the provision of a primary education for the children;
  • in agreement with the Local Authority (LA) determine the general educational character of the school;
  • are responsible for the Health and Safety of the school;
  • in consultation with the head teacher, determine the general direction of the conduct and curriculum of the school;
  • are responsible for the appointment and general professional conduct of the staff;
  • are responsible for the budget that is delegated to the school;
  • are responsible for repairs and maintenance to the interior of the building.  (The exterior structure of the school is still the responsibility of the LA);
  • in consultation with the head teacher, are responsible for the purchasing of books and other equipment;


The Governing Body meets formally once a term. 

All parents have the right to read the minutes of the Governing Body meetings (apart from those deemed to be confidential) once they have been approved. 

There are also various committees within the Governing Body. 

Pupils and Personnel

Finance and General Purposes

Strategic Development

The current Governing Body consists of:-


 Mrs D Hayes                ( Chair)                      Local Authority                         Term of office  18/5/2019 - 19/5/2022


 Mr I Bates                    (Vice Chair)               Co-opted                                   Term of office 30/11/2018 - 1/12/2021


                                                                      Parent Governor                        Vacant 


Mr A Greensmith                                           Parent Governor                        Term of office 16/10/2017 -15/10/2021


Mrs C Mackinder                                            Head teacher                            Term of office 1/9/2012 - on-going


Mr C Hebdon                                                  Associate Member                    Term of office 15/5/2017 - 16/5/2021  


Mrs S Wendon                                               Foundation                                Term of office 29/4/2008 - on-going


                                                                       Associate Member                    Term of office


 Miss A Davis                                                Staff Governor                            Term of office  1/9/2020 - 2/9/23


The Clerk to the Governing Body

 Area Education Office    
Meadow House
NG18 2TB

Mrs D Hayes is currently an Associate Governor at St Anne's Worksop

All governors sit on all committees.

We have two dedicated finance governors Mr I Bates & Mr A Greensmith who attend budget meetings with the head teacher and local authority finance officer.

In the event of a complaint or discipline where an appeals panel may be required, governors will be nominated.

Associate members do not have voting rights, however their opinions are greatly valued.


Some telephone numbers you may find useful: -

County Hall:                                       0115 9823823

Area Education Office:                       01623 433433

Police Contact:                                   01909 500999

Bassetlaw District Hospital:               01909 500990

The Elizabethan Academy School:       01777 713700